Chocolate bread

With wheat sourdough

Slice after slice a heavenly chocolatey treat. Don’t be put off: The time-consuming preparation is worth it! The cocoa note is wonderful on the nose and underlines the strong taste of the bread.

Wheat sourdough

28 g starter (TA 200) (from your favourite baker)
13 g water
42 g wheat flour 550

Main dough

Wheat sourdough
393 g wheat flour 1050
248 g water
71 g honey
pulp of 1/2 vanilla pod
25 g Criollo cocoa (or another variety according to taste!)
1.5 g fresh yeast
10 g salt
100 g dark chocolate 60%

For the sourdough, mix all ingredients and leave to mature at room temperature for 12-16 hours.

Knead all ingredients except the chocolate slowly for 10 minutes until a homogeneous, firm dough is formed. Leave to rest for 5 minutes, then add the chopped chocolate and knead again for 1 minute. Leave to rest for 2 hours in a lightly oiled bowl. Divide the dough in two and shape into balls. Rest the dough for 30 minutes. Shape the balls into the desired loaf shape and leave covered to rise for 3 hours. Cut in and bake at 200°C for 15 minutes with steam and another 20 minutes without steam.

Preparation time on baking day: approx. 6 hours.

A tempting looking and smelling dough….

The result is an amazingly moist, fluffy and tart, faintly sweet bread that goes well with fruit, with milk, a hot chocolate and coffee. Highly recommended!

Preparation

Mix the sourdough ingredients and leave to ripen at 20-22°C for 12-16 hours. You can either make the starter yourself or get it from your local baker. Then mix the pre-dough ingredients and leave to mature for 12-20 hours, also at 20-22°C.

After the maturing time, mix all ingredients for eight minutes on the lowest setting and one minute on the second setting to a moist, sticky dough (dough temperature approx. 28°C). Alternatively, you can mix by hand for the same amount of time.

Then you have to be patient again: The dough must rest for 30 minutes at 20-22°C. Turn the dough round and place it in a proofing basket with the end facing downwards. Proof for 60 minutes at 20-22°C. Bake with the end facing up at 250°C for 50 minutes with little steam, falling to 210°C.

Let cool – and enjoy slice by slice!
Modified recipe based on a Plötzblog creation.

https://unsplash.com/photos/7ARN514bTuA?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditShareLink

Schokoladenbrot

Mit Weizen-Sauerteig

Scheibe für Scheibe ein himmlisch-schokoladiger Genuss. Nicht abschrecken lassen: Die zeitintensive Zubereitung lohnt! Die Kakaonote liegt wunderbar in der Nase und unterstreicht den kräftigen Geschmack des Brots.

Weizensauerteig

  • 28 g Anstellgut (TA 200) (vom Becker eures Vertrauens)
  • 13 g Wasser
  • 42 g Weizenmehl 550

Hauptteig

  • Weizensauerteig
  • 393 g Weizenmehl 1050
  • 248 g Wasser
  • 71 g Honig
  • Mark einer 1/2 Vanilleschote
  • 25 g Criollo Kakao (oder eine andere Sorte je nach Geschmack!)
  • 1,5 g Frischhefe
  • 10 g Salz
  • 100 g Zartbitterschokolade 60%

Für den Sauerteig alle Zutaten mischen und 12-16 Stunden bei Raumtemperatur reifen lassen.

Alle Zutaten außer der Schokolade 10 Minuten langsam verkneten bis ein homogener, straffer Teig entstanden ist. 5 Minuten ruhen lassen, dann die zerhackte Schokolade zugeben und nochmals 1 Minute kneten. 2 Stunden in einer leicht geölten Schüssel ruhen lassen. Den Teig in zwei Teile teilen und zu Kugeln formen. 30 Minuten Teigruhe. Die Kugeln in die gewünschte Laibform formen und abgedeckt 3 Stunden gehen lassen. Einschneiden und bei 200°C 15 Minuten mit Dampf und weitere 20 Minuten ohne Dampf backen.

Zubereitungszeit am Backtag: ca. 6 Stunden

Ein verführerisch aussehender und duftender Teig…

Das Ergebnis ist ein verblüffend saftiges, lockeres und herbes, schwach süßliches Brot, das gut zu Obst, zu Milch, einer heißen Schokolade und Kaffee passt. Sehr empfehlenswert!

Zubereitung

Die Sauerteigzutaten mischen und 12-16 Stunden bei 20-22°C reifen lassen. Das Anstellgut hierfür kann man entweder selbst herstellen oder beim Bäcker seines Vertrauens bekommen. Anschließend die Vorteigzutaten mischen und 12-20 Stunden ebenfalls bei 20-22°C reifen lassen.

Nach der Reifezeit alle Zutaten acht Minuten auf niedrigster Stufe und eine Minute auf zweiter Stufe zu einem feuchten, klebrigen Teig mischen (Teigtemperatur ca. 28°C). Alternativ kann man auch über dieselbe Zeit von Hand mischen.

Dann heißt es wieder geduldig sein: Der Teig muss 30 Minuten bei 20-22°C ruhen. Den Teig rundwirken und mit dem Schluss nach unten in einen Gärkorb setzen, 60 Minuten Gare bei 20-22°C. Mit dem Schluss nach oben dann bei 250°C fallend auf 210°C 50 Minuten mit wenig Dampf backen.

Auskühlen lassen – und Scheibe für Scheibe genießen!
Abgewandeltes Rezept auf Basis einer Plötzblog-Kreation.

Foto: https://unsplash.com/photos/7ARN514bTuA?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditShareLink